DOJ Registration Fees: $25.00 Additional Firearms (on same day at same time, No Charge)
Private-Party Transfer: $35.00
Out of State and Intra-State Transfer In: $80* (INCLUDES BACKGROUND/DROS FEE) *Firearms shipped in from outside of California require CA sales tax of 8% on purchase price to be paid at time of DROS.
Transfer/ship out: $100.00 plus actual shipping and insurance
Please call us if you have any questions!
Legal Requirements for purchasing a firearm: Handgun purchaser must be 21 or older. Long guns and shotguns 18 or older. Frames and recievers are 21 or older. Valid California Drivers license or ID A Firearm Safety Certificate is Required. The buyer will need to complete the Federal 4473 and the California DROS, and pay a fee. There will be a 10 waiting period, unless the buyer is exempt. The buyer will need a firearm saftey device, either a lock or safe affidavit or some other acceptable solution. A second proof of residency is requiered for handgun purchases. (ie, car registration or utility bil with the address matching the DL.) Please see DOJ website for List Of Exemptions. (https://oag.ca.gov/firearms) Please see the CA DOJ website for "List of Misdemeanors Prohibiting Firearms Possession and Ownership.
HOW TO PURCHASE ONLINE AND TRANSFER HERE
Purchase the firearm from the dealer or auction and have it sent to us for transfer. The Dealer or seller will need to have our FFL number and a copy of our license. Call or send us an email (use contact us page) with the Dealer's name, phone number, fax number, invoice number/transaction number of the purchase. You will be responsible to pay CA sales tax on your purchase from an out of state retailer.
Once the item is received from the seller or Dealer, we will contact your to begin the DROS/Registration process. The firearm must be in our possession to start the DROS10-day waiting period.*
*Firearms left after 30 days without prior approval will incur a storage fee of $5.00 per day.
WHAT IS THE DROS PROCESS?
All firearm sales require a background check and 10-day wait in California. This step begins when you personally come in to the store. At that time, we will complete the CA Department of Justice DROS and Federal paperwork. All DROS, Dealer transfer fees, and applicable CA state sales tax are required at this point and are non-refundable.
The DOJ will notify High Desert Guns and Ammo of a denial of our ability to proceed with the transfer of your firearm to you. NO news is good news here. The DOJ may also request that a "hold" be put on your purchase because additional information is needed. Note: A "hold" may constitute more than a ten-day waiting period.
Upon approval by the DOJ, there is a required ten (10) 24 hour period waiting time, and you may NOT pick up your firearm purchase until the full ten days has passed. The DOJ has full control over the "delivery" or "denial" of your firearm. The approval or denial decisions are based on your background check by the DOJ.. This federal and state background check is a mandatory requirement for the sale, transfer and title of firearms ownership.
We understand that the paperwork and certifications may feel like overkill, and we certainly appreciate you working with us so that your transaction goes as quickly and smoothly as possible. However, the paperwork is necessary to assure that your purchase is in full accordance with Federal ATF, DOJ, and CA state laws. Our goal is to provide you with the very best service available, one that you will use again and again.